Meeting Date: March 12, 2020

CITY OF DILLINGHAM, ALASKA

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-09

A RESOLUTION OF THE DILLINGHAM CITY COUNCIL SUPPORTING THE STATE OF ALASKA HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 9: REQUESTING THE UNITED STATES SECRETARY OF THE TREASURY TO MINT NOT LESS THAN 5,000,000 \$1 COINS HONORING ELIZABETH PERATROVICH UNDER THE NATIVE AMERICAN \$1 COIN ACT

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Peratrovich, of the Tlingit Nation, was an important civil rights activist who fought for equality for Alaska Natives; and

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Peratrovich advocated for the passage of the Alaska Territorial Legislature's Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945, the first anti-discrimination law in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Peratrovich served as the Grand President of the Alaska Native Sisterhood; and

WHEREAS, in 1988, the Alaska State Legislature established February 16 of each year as Elizabeth Peratrovich Day; and

WHEREAS, in 1992, the public gallery of the chambers of the House of Representatives formerly known as Gallery B was renamed in honor of Elizabeth Peratrovich; and

WHEREAS Elizabeth Peratrovich was named as a 2018 honoree of the National Women's History Alliance; and

WHEREAS, in 2020, residents of the state will celebrate Elizabeth Peratrovich and the 75th anniversary of the Alaska Anti-Discrimination Act; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED the Dillingham City Council supports the Alaska State Legislatures request that the United States Secretary of the Treasury, under the Native American \$1 Coin Act, mint not less than 5,000,000 Elizabeth Peratrovich \$1 coins to be issued at face value and delivered to the Seattle branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco for distribution for deposit in banks throughout the State of Alaska.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED the Dillingham City Council also requests the United States Secretary of the Treasury carry out a continuing campaign to encourage commercial enterprises to accept and dispense Elizabeth Peratrovich \$1 coins.

Meeting Date: March 12, 2020

PASSED and ADOPTED by a duly constituted quorum of the Dillingham City Council on

March 12, 2020.

[SEAL]

Lori Goodell, City Clerk

STATE OF ALASKA THE LEGISLATURE

2020

Source CSHJR 9(STA) **Resolve No.** 15



Requesting the United States Secretary of the Treasury to mint not less than 5,000,000 \$1 coins honoring Elizabeth Peratrovich under the Native American \$1 Coin Act.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

WHEREAS Elizabeth Peratrovich, of the Tlingit Nation, was an important civil rights activist who fought for equality for Alaska Natives; and

WHEREAS Elizabeth Peratrovich advocated for the passage of the Alaska Territorial Legislature's Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945, the first anti-discrimination law in the United States; and

WHEREAS Elizabeth Peratrovich served as the Grand President of the Alaska Native Sisterhood; and

WHEREAS, in 1988, the Alaska State Legislature established February 16 of each year as Elizabeth Peratrovich Day; and

WHEREAS, in 1992, the public gallery of the chambers of the House of Representatives formerly known as Gallery B was renamed in honor of Elizabeth Peratrovich; and

WHEREAS Elizabeth Peratrovich was named as a 2018 honoree of the National

Women's History Alliance; and

WHEREAS, in 2020, residents of the state will celebrate Elizabeth Peratrovich and the 75th anniversary of the Alaska Anti-Discrimination Act;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature requests that the United States Secretary of the Treasury, under the Native American \$1 Coin Act, mint not less than 5,000,000 Elizabeth Peratrovich \$1 coins to be issued at face value and delivered to the Seattle branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco for distribution for deposit in banks throughout the State of Alaska; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature requests that the United States Secretary of the Treasury carry out a continuing campaign to encourage commercial enterprises to accept and dispense Elizabeth Peratrovich \$1 coins.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President of the United States; the Honorable Michael R. Pence, Vice President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Steven T. Mnuchin, United States Secretary of the Treasury; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.